RSS Feed

Green Pea Hummus

Posted on

As I’ve mentioned, my daughter loves hummus.  We all do, so I make at batch every few days, and we snack on it with fresh veggies and corn chips or put it in wraps.  But hummus is one of those things that’s easy to get tired of, so I’ve come up with lots of different variations on the classic recipe.  I tried one yesterday that was too good not to share- green pea hummus.  It’s a sweet, vibrant alternative to traditional hummus.

Green Pea Hummus

  • 1 pound frozen (or fresh) green peas, thawed
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice (about one lemon)
  • 1/4 cup fresh mint leaves
  • 1/8-1/4 cup goat cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Throw everything in a food processor or blender and blend until smooth.  Fiddle with the flavors to get it perfect, but definitely let baby taste it before you change it too much.  My girl likes goat cheese but doesn’t love it, so I can’t put too much in- it’s a very strong flavor!  If you prefer, feta cheese also works great in this hummus.

Try it and let me know what you think!

Thoughts?